Theological PhD’s and the Local Church

As I am crossing the halfway point of my seminary career (just 3 more semesters after this one), I am beginning to think more and more about where I want to pursue my PhD and in what field. I entered into seminary with the mindset that I was going to go straight through and pursue my PhD after my MDiv, so whether or not I’m going to pursue it isn’t the question, but where and in what are the issues.

With that said, I came across this very interesting post yesterday about the job market decline for PhD recipients in general, and especially in the field of Theology. The article, “More Bad News in the Ph.D. Job Market,” notes the following points about the Association of Theological Schools:

  1. Enrollment at theological schools has declined steadily since 2006
  2. Theological schools are hiring half the new faculty they were two years ago

In an article written in response to Cortez, Brian LePort seeks to answer, or pose, the question of whether or not this is good for the local church.

Good points are made on both sides. On the one hand, you will have more educated, disciplined men in the pastorate as a result of less and less full-time teaching jobs coming available. However, a good counter to this point is whether it is a good thing that men are entering into the pastorate as a “back-up plan” because they couldn’t find a teaching job at any institutions.

You can see more in LePort’s article on the specific arguments made for each case, as well as some other insightful points about how this could impact our local churches in the future.

What do you think? Do you think that this declining market in academia will serve to be a good thing for the local church?

7 thoughts on “Theological PhD’s and the Local Church

  1. Brent Cantrell February 12, 2012 / 8:33 am

    I think it will be a great short term, but bad long term for the local church. Short term it’s great because the local church is in such desperate need for good sound theological teaching. Finally the end of *grandma theology! Long term it will hurt the local church because you will have phenomenal teachers who in no way, shape, or form have the patience, compassion or discipline needed to be an effective pastor. The pulpit department will be covered, but hospital visitation, family counseling, and the late night service calls will suffer.
    *Grandma Theology: Christians/non believers quoting grandma’s ridiculous interpretation of heresay about Scripture.

    p.s. Just go to Wheaton.

    • ztford February 12, 2012 / 1:47 pm

      I think that is an interesting point Brent. I do agree with what you’re saying, but I think if I could pick one over the other I would pick sound theological teaching with non-so-good pastoral skills than someone with great pastoral skills and terrible teaching, because there are many others in the church (deacons, leaders, etc) who can care for the members through hospital visits, etc. This is not to say that a great teacher should not be constantly seeking to be better in the pastoral and counseling ministry, but it is what I would choose if I could choose only one. Of course, you would like to have a pastor who was great in both respects.

  2. Brent Cantrell February 12, 2012 / 3:49 pm

    I see your point and totally agree about the elders and deacons filling in. (hopefully they are already a vital part of this particular section of church health) But you can not teach someone to have a heart, even through years of sanctification that intangible love that a Pastor should have can not be taught. But the weak doctrine they hold can be taught, or should I say I feel it would be easier to teach the doctrine than the heart.

    • ztford February 12, 2012 / 3:58 pm

      Well I am not talking about a cold, dead lecturer that cares nothing about people and simply wants to spout info…that type of person shouldn’t be a pastor period, whether he has a phd or barely a hs diploma.

      I know many men that are professors who have a wonderful heart for people and for them to come to know and savor who Jesus is and what he has done! Will these guys be able to go to every hospital, counsel every person, etc? Well, that depends on the size of the church. If its big at all then the teaching elder of the church should primarily be responsible for the teaching of the body and the discipleship of the members. Deacons and other elders were instituted for the very purpose of caring for the flock on a day to day basis.

      I think what you’ve established is a false dichotomy…a loving good hearted man on one end and a cold, heartless phd recipient on the other. I think that one can absolutely be a very effective teaching pastor of a church and not have the BEST people and counseling skills…however, he should absolutely care for the people…if not then he has no place being a pastor, let alone even calling himself a Christian.

      I feel like I’ve rambled but hopefully I made some kind of sense lol

  3. Brent Cantrell February 13, 2012 / 8:21 am

    I agree with you, but I think I didn’t communicate the stance I have. I’m not saying that it’s either/or ; black/ white with a theological Phd being a good pastor. I’m saying that as a solid Christian who is pursuing a Phd in theology to become a teacher and can’t find a job, so he fills in a slot of “up the road baptist” in the long term it is bad for the local church. Can a theological phd make a great pastor? Of course, it would be awesome if every pastor had one. But if his heart is not into Pastoring a church and looking for the first open slot at the local university, that will not help the local church in the long run. The two distinctions I painted was a great Christian man who just got his Phd, can’t find a job and fills in a Pastor position until a slot opens up. If that is not the case then he will be a great pastor, having the Phd will only make him more equipped and effective for the Kingdom. On the other side that same man awaiting the teaching salary “will not have the patience, compassion, or discipline needed to be an effective pastor.” I didn’t create a false dichotomy I was talking about one man who wanted to be a professor. Not a bad guy, certainly doesn’t make him a non-believer but you can’t plant an orange tree in moscow. Not a bad tree just in the wrong place.

  4. Brent Cantrell February 13, 2012 / 8:24 am

    The orange tree bit used to be: You can’t plant an orange tree in canada. But their is actually several fruitful orange tree orchards in canada. lol go figure

Leave a comment